Uncomfortable Consequences of the Run

31 Mar

As the title implies, running long distances isn’t always as rewarding as you want it to be ….

I spent the 24 hours after getting back from my 13.1 mile run (Monday night) in a mild to severe state of nausea.

{Yes, the next work day was horrible.  No coffee.  Lots of tea}

I remember this happening on-and-off when I was training for my half-marathon last spring and first started getting into the longer runs.  I believe my first ever 10miles is when it first happened.

I’m not really sure where it comes from/how to combat it.  I didn’t have the time to trial-and-error my way out of it last spring — I just tried a whole bunch of different things: altering my diet, less coffee, more water, etc. etc.

Luckily, the nausea didn’t start during my run – as it sometimes has – but that whole night and next day my poor stomach felt weak and completely sickly.  Eating didn’t help.  Drinking didn’t help.  I was slightly terrified that at any moment I was going to start heaving.

I’ve researched this to the moon and back {in the moment, there’s nothing worse than severe stomach pain ruining an otherwise wonderfully rewarding workout … talk about totally killing the ‘high’} and see that it is actually a relatively common ailment for many women running long distances.

Well, great.

It seems that running long distances is difficult on your intestinal system …. though my investment in the book ‘Born to Run’ has yet to bring that point up.  I guess it would ruin the whole ‘born to run’ theme …..

{yes, I’m being bitter …. I’m not a fan of my body working against me as opposed to with me}

As my runs will only be getting longer, I guess the research and trial-and-error eating will have to continue.  I refuse to spend the next 7 (!!) months in a perpetual state of self-induced nausea.  Any additional advice is welcome! (seriously)

Eggs were suggested to me as a meal that would be easy on my stomach, so after work on Tuesday I made myself a delicious omelette:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/8 cup onions, chopped
  • handful of cherry tomatoes, chopped
  • handful of mushrooms, chopped
  • pepper to taste
  • basil

I rounded out the meal with one of the flaxseed muffins I adore so much, with almond butter and berry jam 🙂

Yes, I skipped my cardio for the day ….

As much as I hate excuses,  I almost feel that this one was valid.

**On the bright side:

Finally finally finally got an iphone!!! 🙂

I’ve been waiting forever for my plan to be up / for Verizon to jump on the Apple bandwagon — and Tuesday the day finally arrived!  So yes, my phone bill has now skyrocketed …. but it’s so pretty! 😉

I immediately downloaded several apps, including ‘What Should I wear running?’ – thanks to Teri‘s blog!  Wednesday morning I did get myself up running – queasiness had gone down considerably – and this app absolutely helped me decide what to wear.  Initially had on long leggings, and switched to shorts per the app’s instructions ….. and happy I did!

{On the phone it actually just shows up as ‘What to wear’ — a source of much laughter for my friend’s investigating my new toy.  Not to say that I wouldn’t dl/find that type of app helpful on some days…..}

Living in an apt building can be annoying in the sense that you can’t just open your front door to see what the weather is like….. so this app is ridiculously helpful.

Yucky yucky weather this week ….. who ordered a second dose of winter?! So I made myself a feel-good warm breakfast today, courtesy of one of my favorite blogs, ‘eating bird food.’ Of course I improvised:

  • no banana …. but only because I’m out of them
  • no pumpkin spice
  • add 1 t of flaxseed meal
  • 3/4 cup of almond milk (I like my oatmeal a little more liquidy…)
  • add cinnamon to taste!

And of course, I made my oatmeal this morning, in the microwave (3 minutes) right before eating it!

This plus stove-top espresso (which I’m also running out of …) was the perfect start to a less-than-ideal day 🙂

{….and nausea free. for now.}

3 Responses to “Uncomfortable Consequences of the Run”

  1. Jessica Clem April 5, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Hello! I love reading your blog! I understand the icky feeling after long runs. I am training for a half marathon and have a few races and long runs under my belt. I would recommend trying some homemade smoothies after a run. Use frozen fruit with no sugar. These always seem to be easy on my stomach and are easy to digest after a run. Plus you get all your nutrients that your body needs! I usually put frozen berries, bananas, Greek yogurt, ground flaxseed, pure fruit juice and honey or agave.

    • regulargirlrunning April 5, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

      Awesome — Thank you so much for this! I will absolutely try it out. Training runs are only getting longer and it’ll be great to have a go-to solution.

      Good luck in your half!! 🙂

      • Jessica April 6, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

        Thank you!! Keep up the great posting!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

