TGIF ramblings & my Love of the Week

25 Mar

So this morning I did my typical Friday 7miler …. wow, was it easier to get up last week in the WARM weather.  Where did this cold front come from?!?

(no, this is not the forum to debate that)

Even though I had to pull out gloves and a headband again, my run felt pretty great.  I wasn’t sore or tight and can’t decide if that has anything to do with the fact that this was only my second run this week ….

I kind of hope not, because three runs a week (I’m counting in Sunday’s run) is on the low side.  But maybe it’s ok for this week since my knee definitely was feeling sore today — should remind myself to do some icing later.

What is ALSO sore is my upper body from pump class!  Yes, ladies and gents, I made it to the Thursday 6:30am class again FINALLY, which means I got in 2 days of weights this week.  That’s the amount I typically like to go for and it used to be perfect because my favorite instructor taught body pump Tues. & Thurs. nights at 7:00pm — exactly the right time for me to get to after work!  Then the new year hit and they moved Thursday’s class to 6pm (YES without asking me.  I was shocked too), and there’s no way I can make that.  Sunday she teaches as well – but I always have a hard time getting myself to classes on the weekend.  I guess I should work on that.

Thursday morning is the only other option for body pump at my gym — and though I’m not a huge fan of the instructor (I don’t mean as a person – she’s perfectly lovely – I mean the way she runs the class … aka not very well), OR the time, it does get in that second day of weights.

In several pieces of literature about running marathons, I’ve read that one of the biggest mistakes people make is not integrating enough weight training into their overall training schedule.  It does make sense if you think about it.  Running is tough on the joints – knees, hips, etc.  Especially if you do most of your training on roads or sidewalks.  Building up the muscle around those joints is essential to help keep them cushioned.  You don’t see many marathoners with ‘chicken legs’ ….. & the last thing I want to do is hurt myself during this training process or during the marathon itself (ugh, imagine it….).

I don’t make weight loss the bottom line anymore for many reasons:

{one of which is that it makes you crazy}

because primarily I want exercise and my daily life to be about more than that.

It’s about health.

It’s about physical fitness.

It’s about happiness.

It’s about lifestyle.

….And so then I threw the marathon in there because it IS something to work towards that will incorporate all of the above.

Think about it: I can’t ‘diet,’ per se – not only because I’m hungry all the time (thank you massive amount of burning calories!) – but because I do need fuel&energy for all the exercise I’m cramming into my life.  So instead, I have to make better choices with my eating.  I didn’t start marathon training with this intention, but the more I got into it and the more I read, the more I realized that one really can’t happen successfully without the other.  I’m going to eat a lot. Period.  But what am I going to eat?  As Michael Pollen of ‘In Defense of Food’ says: “mostly plants.”

{speaking of – I haven’t gotten super far into that book …. mainly because I’m reading 3 other books at the same time … but I highly recommend it.  It’s insightful, witty, eye-opening, and extremely well-written & researched.  For those of you who hate diet books: it’s NOT a diet book. Far from it.  In fact, he encourages eating!  Um, yes pleaseeeeee}

Which brings me to my Love of the Week:

The Classic Green Monster from one of my favorite blogs Oh She Glows.  I made it for breakfast TWICE this week – and will probably make a version of it tomorrow!  Can’t help it … I’m hooked.  And she has a whole line (…can you say that when talking about smoothies?) of these!  Yum yum  yum yum.

Recipe:

  • 1 c almond milk
  • 1 banana (ripened is better)
  • 2 handfuls of organic spinach
  • 1 T of ground flax (or chia seeds … which I have yet to buy/try)
  • 1 T of nut butter (she lists a dark chocolate nut butter that I will DEFINITELY have to try … I just used peanut)
  • 1-3 ice cubes

This smoothie keeps me full all the way to lunch ….. unheard of!  And these days I always have these ingredients in my pantry&fridge 🙂

She also has a whole vegan bakery that is, unfortunately, completely sold out of her homemade granola & granola bars that I’m dying to try.  I was so bummed …. hopefully she’s restocking soon!!  🙂

Do yourself a favor and check out her site (linked above) with all her amazing recipes … 100% of which I want to make!

Tonight I’m exhausted – getting up at 5:45am will do that to you – and am tempted to just chow down on something quick.  BUT, I made a Trader Joes run today after work (bliss…. I could spend hours in that tiny little grocery store!) and have all the fixings for a dish I’ve been wanting to try.

So I’m going to suck it up, pour myself a glass of wine (duh) and get cooking!

TGIF!

4 Responses to “TGIF ramblings & my Love of the Week”

  1. Recipe Chefs March 26, 2011 at 12:49 am #

    I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    Delicious Coffee Rolls

    • regulargirlrunning March 28, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

      Thanks so much! I’ll definitely check out your recipes …..
      that ‘delicious coffee rolls’ link is quite a teaser for a coffee-lover like me! 🙂

  2. loftyappetite March 28, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    I will need to try to add peanut butter to my post workout green monster tonight, at first it scared me, but you have inspired me! Also, I could spend all day at Trader Joe’s, it makes me so happy, foodie’s paradise.

    • regulargirlrunning March 28, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

      Do it! You’ll wonder how you did without 😉
      I’d also recommend almond butter!

Leave a Reply

