The off-run

22 Mar

Been a while since I’ve had one of them … so I guess I was due?

It’s a beyond discouraging feeling to drag yourself out of bed at 6am after just as much hours of sleep so that you can jump-start your day with an invigorating run …. and then just really never get into it.  I mean really frustrating.

I’d say it usually takes me around 2 miles to loosen up (esp. in the morning) and really dig into a run, getting my split down and ‘groove’ up (sorry, no better way to say it! haha).   But today it was not happening.  For a 6mile run I’d say I didn’t start to get into the swing of it until mile 4 – a little after the fact, no?  My legs felt unusually leaden and tight…

{Differing advice regarding stretching before running: All my life I thought you were supposed to stretch immediately before a work out — but lately, I’ve read some literature saying that stretching ‘cold’ muscles could do more damage than anything and that you should wait until you’ve warmed up a little before stretching … thoughts??}

…and my stomach was bothering me {silver lining: all these excuses, and I still finished the run!}.  Disappointing, to say the least.  I had forgotten my Garmin this morning so I didn’t get to clock my time or split — but I’m going to go ahead and say that it was not my best.  I try to track all my runs: time, split, calories, etc. on a spreadsheet.  I don’t have a time I’m shooting for in my next 10miler – but it’s nice to see the improvement.  Plus, wearing the Garmin does make me push myself …..

I guess I should stop ‘forgetting’ it 😉

On the bright side, I’d gone to bed the night before thinking about the smoothie I was going to make this morning!  I just bought this wonderfully simplistic new smoothie maker and I’m in love.  I also picked up some fresh strawberries at my grocery store this weekend – they were on sale and actually looked decent — I couldn’t resist! 🙂

So with coffee gurgling away (it’s a little italian espresso maker that goes on the stove top… and yes, it does in fact gurgle), I made myself a Strawberry Banana Smoothie:

– 7 fresh strawberries {frozen would work too}

-1 whole banana

-1/2 cup almond milk {Soy milk works – I just prefer almond, esp. with the next ingredient…}

-1 scoop soy protein powder

-1 T whole flaxseeds

So yummy!!! 🙂

It made kind of a lot …. but of course I drank it all.  Maybe next time I’ll try it with just a quarter of a cup of milk ….

If you don’t have one of these single-serving smoothie maker, I’d suggest investing in one immediately

Leave a Reply

